did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

We're the #1 textbook rental company. Let us show you why.

9780593372661

Sofía Acosta Makes a Scene

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780593372661

  • ISBN10:

    0593372662

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2023-05-23
  • Publisher: Yearling

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $8.99 Save up to $2.25
  • Rent Book
    $6.74
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 2-3 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

A poignant coming-of-age story about a Cuban American girl trying to figure out where she belongs—both in her ballet-loving family and the wider world. Perfect for fans of Front Desk and Merci Suárez Changes Gears.

“An important and honest look at immigration, racial inequities, and understanding how one person can make a difference.” —School Library Journal

It’s a good thing Sofía Acosta loves dreaming up costumes, because otherwise, she’s a ballet disaster—unlike her parents, who danced under prima ballerina Alicia Alonso before immigrating to the suburbs of New York. Luckily, when the Acostas host their dancer friends from Cuba for a special performance with the American Ballet Theatre, Sofía learns there’s more than dance holding her family together. Between swapping stories about Cuba, sharing holiday celebrations, and Sofía learning more about costume design, the Acostas have never been more of a team.

Then Sofía finds out about the dancers’ secret plans to defect to the United States and makes a serious mistake—she confides in her best friend, only to discover that Tricia doesn't want “outsiders” moving to their community. Now Sofía wonders what the other neighbors in her tight-knit suburban town really think of immigrant families like hers. Sofía doesn’t want to make a scene, but if she doesn’t speak up, how will she figure out if her family really belongs?

Author Biography

Emma Otheguy is the author of the middle-grade novel Silver Meadows Summer and the award-winning picture books Martí's Song for Freedom and A Sled for Gabo. She coauthored The Unicorn Rescue Society: The Madre de Aguas of Cuba with Adam Gidwitz, and her most recent publication is her contribution to the new Carmen Sandiego universe, Secrets of the Silver Lion.

Emma holds a PhD in history from New York University, where she focused on colonial Latin America; graduated from Swarthmore College; sold books at an independent bookstore; and taught elementary-school Spanish. She lives in New York City with her family.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

The Used, Rental and eBook copies of this book are not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Rewards Program