did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

did-you-know? rent-now

Amazon no longer offers textbook rentals. We do!

We're the #1 textbook rental company. Let us show you why.

9780316496315

The Unimaginable Storm A Doctor's Journey Through a Modern Pandemic

by
  • ISBN13:

    9780316496315

  • ISBN10:

    0316496316

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 2022-05-24
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Spark

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • eCampus.com Logo Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $17.99 Save up to $1.80
  • Rent Book $16.19
    Add to Cart Free Shipping Icon Free Shipping

    TERM
    PRICE
    DUE
    USUALLY SHIPS IN 3-5 BUSINESS DAYS
    *This item is part of an exclusive publisher rental program and requires an additional convenience fee. This fee will be reflected in the shopping cart.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

Summary

For readers of Atul Gawande, Henry Marsh, and Danielle Ofri, a deeply personal insider's account of the fight against Covid-19 — from an intensive care doctor on the front lines.

In early 2020, the world changed. As early reports of the Covid-19 coronavirus made their way across the globe, intensive care doctor and pulmonary specialist Daniela Lamas, MD, braced herself, along with thousands of other doctors, nurses, and other healthcare providers across the country. By the end of the summer, thousands and thousands of Americans had died, with infection rates continuing to climb. And while millions locked down in isolation, Dr. Lamas and her colleagues put their health and safety on the line every day to contain the virus, treat its victims, comfort devastated families, and save as many lives as possible.

In THE UNIMAGINABLE STORM, Dr. Lamas offers a gripping, front line account of the Covid-19 response in Boston’s Brigham and Women’s hospital — beginning with the emergence of the virus through its first spike and beyond — and tells the stories of the doctors, caregivers, patients, and families affected by this merciless disease. With remarkable insight and intimacy, Dr. Lamas shares stories of devastation and heartbreak, but also of miraculous survival, resilience, teamwork, perseverance, and tenderness, all with an eye toward the human side of medicine that is so frequently obscured by an industry, government, and media culture obsessed with data.

Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, THE UNIMAGINABLE STORM is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the human cost of the coronavirus pandemic and the people who’ve done everything in their power to help.
 

 

Author Biography

Daniela Lamas is a pulmonary and critical care doctor at the Brigham & Women's Hospital and faculty at Harvard Medical School. Following graduation from Harvard College, she went on to earn her MD at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons, where she also completed internship and residency. She then returned to Boston for her subspecialty fellowship. During the Covid-19 pandemic, Dr. Lamas became appeared regularly on television and in print to share her expertise. She also worked as a medical reporter at the Miami Herald, is frequently published in the New York Times, has written for the Fox TV show The Resident, and is the author of You Can Stop Humming Now.

Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?

The New copy of this book will include any supplemental materials advertised. Please check the title of the book to determine if it should include any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

The Used, Rental and eBook copies of this book are not guaranteed to include any supplemental materials. Typically, only the book itself is included. This is true even if the title states it includes any access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.

Rewards Program