What Really Happened

  • ISBN13:


  • ISBN10:


  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 2012-06-22
  • Publisher: Benbella Books

Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental or Used book purchases.

Purchase Benefits

  • Free Shipping On Orders Over $35!
    Your order must be $35 or more to qualify for free economy shipping. Bulk sales, PO's, Marketplace items, eBooks and apparel do not qualify for this offer.
  • Get Rewarded for Ordering Your Textbooks! Enroll Now
List Price: $24.95 Save up to $6.24
  • Buy Used


Supplemental Materials

What is included with this book?


The John Edwards-Rielle Hunter affair made headlines for years. "One of the biggest political scandals of all time," "a fall from grace," "a modern-day tragedy" - it's a story that has been reported, distorted, and spun over and over again by the media, by political aides, by the U.S. government, by supposed friends. However, there is someone who actually knows the truth, someone who lived it from day one-the woman at the heart of the story itself: Rielle Hunter. In What Really Happened , Hunter offers an extremely personal account of her relationship with John Edwards: the facts of how they actually met, how their accidental love started and escalated, what it was like to fall in love with a married man who decided to run for president, the surprise of becoming pregnant during the campaign, how the affair became public, the extensive cover-up, and finally, what happened in the years after Edwards publicly admitted to being the father of their daughter, Frances Quinn. Meet Edwards's political players and get an intimate look at how they really operated. Learn about the evolution of "friends," enablers, and do-gooders, their involvement with the affair and Edwards's 2008 presidential campaign, and where the money from Rachel "Bunny" Mellon and Fred Baron actually went. This book doesn't spin the truth to achieve a prettier picture or a better story. It isn't about changing anyone's mind. It's simply the facts, the truth of what really happened.

Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
Sixty-First and Parkp. 3
Becoming a Mistressp. 13
Falling in Lovep. 23
Working Girlp. 33
And Away We Gop. 39
The Real Dealp. 49
The Leaves Are Changingp. 59
The End of the Yearp. 67
One Night Onlyp. 77
On and Onp. 85
The Circle of Lifep. 93
Odd Timingp. 101
Yes, I Amp. 109
Knock, Knockp. 117
"She Even Denied She Was Rielle Hunter!"p. 129
Band on the Runp. 141
The End of Just Mep. 149
Changing Diapers, Changing Everythingp. 159
The End of My Mistress Stintp. 173
She is Not My Childp. 187
Goodbye, Santa Barbarap. 193
Jersey Girlsp. 201
Father of the Yearp. 211
The Last Chapter Before the Verdictp. 223
Epiloguep. 239
Acknowledgmentsp. 243
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

Rewards Program

Write a Review